Skip to main content

Public Health and Sport Sciences

Public Health Economics

Who we are 

Dr Antonieta Medina-Lara Professor of Public Health Economics
Dr Daniel Derbyshire Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Public Health Economics
Nia Morrish Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Public Health Economics
Professor Richard Smith Professor of Public Health Economics
Dr Tim Taylor Senior Lecturer in Environmental and Public Health Economics
Sophie Hearn PhD student
Yuwen Li PhD student
Francis Okello PhD student
Bethany Parkes PhD student
Karen Ullian PhD student

Our health research methods

  • Econometric Analysis
  • Micro-econometric Demand Analysis
  • Analysis of Big Data
  • Macroeconomics in Health
  • Discrete Choice Experiments
  • Cost-Effectiveness Analysis
  • Decision Analytical Modelling
  • Health Inequalities
  • Evidence Synthesis

We work in partnership with the Health Economics group, whose research focuses on medical aspects of health economics. 

Our research

Our current research covers four key areas: food, employment, global health and mental wellbeing.

Current projects:

People sitting at picnic tables under trees on St Luke's Campus

Work with us

We are always interested in hearing from potential collaborators working in academia or industry. 

Please contact a member of the team via our profiles, linked on this page. 

PhD studentships

If you are considering a PhD, please read through our research interests on this page, and contact one of us initially to discuss your project idea. 

A student examining a financial graph in the computer lab

Our funders

Research projects on this page received funding from the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Public Health Research Programme; NIHR Programme Grants; Horizon 2020; Food Standards Agency

Our partners

Our partners are: University of Oxford; University of Cambridge; University of Liverpool; University of Bath; The London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine; University of East Anglia; Busitema University, Uganda; Bergen University, Norway; University of Kwa-Zulu Natal, South Africa.