Medicine, Nursing and Allied Health Professions

A Collaborative Team

Core Members

Member of staffPosition
Associate Professor Gary Abel Senior Lecturer & Statistician
Dima Arafah PhD student
Dr Sarah Bailey Research Fellow   
Dr Charlotte Bramwell Researcher & PhD student
Dr Jo Butterworth Postgraduate research student
Dr Raff Calitri Trial Manager/Research Fellow
Professor John Campbell Director for APEx & Professor of General Practice and Primary Care
Professor Linda Clare

Professor of Clinical Psychology and Ageing and Dementia

Dr Chris Clark

Clinical Senior Lecturer in General Practice

Professor Hayes Dalal 

Honorary Clinical Associate Professor & Senior Clinical Researcher, RCHT

Antoinette Davey

Research Associate
Grace Dibben PhD Student
Professor Christopher Dickens Professor of Psychological Medicine & Honorary Consultant in Psychological Medicine
Mr Jon Evans Clinical Lecture in Trauma and Orthopaedics
Associate Professor Philip Evans  Associate Professor of General Practice & Primary Care
Emily Fletcher Research Fellow 
Dr Mayam Gomez-Cano

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Rebekah Hall

Graduate Trainee Assistant in Health Economics

Professor David Halpin Consultant Physician and Honorary Professor
Professor Willie Hamilton  Professor of Primary Care Diagnostics
Professor Alex Harding Sub Dean, Course Director M.Clin.Ed

Dr Judit Konya

Academic GP Registrar

Professor Sallie Lamb

Mireille Gillings Professor of Health Innovation

Dr Sinead McDonagh

Research Fellow

Dr Tani Martins

Research Fellow 

Dr Sam Merriel

Senior Clinical Research Fellow
Dr Sarah Moore Academic Clinical Fellow in Primary Care

Dr Luke Mounce

Research Fellow

Abdullah Mubarky

MPhil/PhD PGR Student

Dr Emma Pitchforth

Senior Lecturer & Senior Research Fellow in Primary Care

Dr Leon Poltawski

Research Fellow

Dr Ian Porter 

Associate Research Fellow

Dr Sarah Price 

Research Fellow

Dr Elizabeth Shephard

Research Fellow  

Dr Jane Smith

Senior Lecturer in Primary Care

Dr Sal Stapley

Research Fellow 
Professor Rod Taylor Professor of Health Services Research
Professor Jose Valderas Professor of Health Services and Policy Research 

Dr Fiona Warren

Senior Lecturer in Medical Statistics  

Dr Bianca Wiering

Postdoctorate Research Associate

Rachel Winder

Research Fellow

Affiliate Members

Member of staffPosition
Professor Louise Allan Professor of Geriatric Medicine
Professor Rob Anderson Associate Professor of Health Services and Implementation Research, Director of Research Impact (Institute of Health Research), Director of ESMI
Professor Clive Ballard Pro-Vice Chancellor and Executive Dean
Dr Jessica Bollen Associate Research Fellow
Dr Anne Corbett Senior Lecturer in Dementia Research
Professor Barney Dunn Professor
Professor Tamsin Ford Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Dr Lisa Gibbons

Honorary Clinical Associate Research Fellow and Clinical Research Specialty Lead for the NIHR

Professor Colin Green Professor of Health Economics
Professor Vicky Goodwin Associate Professor of Ageing and Rehabilitation
Professor William Henley Professor of Medical Statistics
Professor Clare Hulme Professor of Health Economics
Professor Chris Hyde Professor of Public Health and Clinical Epidemiology
Dr David Llywelyn Senior Research Fellow

Professor Antonietta Medina-Lara

Associate Professor in Health Economics (E&R)

Dr Tamsin Newglove-Delgado

Senior Clinical Lecturer and Honorary Consultant in Public Health

Dr Martin Pitt

Associate Professor of Healthcare Modelling and Simulation

Professor Anne Spencer

Associate Professor

Dr Beverley Shields

Senior Lecturer in Medical Statistics

Professor Krasimira Tsaneva

Professor of Mathematics for Healthcare


Dr Lisa Gibbons An Honorary Research Fellow of the University of Exeter Medical School, is the Clinical Research Specialty Lead for Primary Care within the CRN: SWP, based in Exeter.
Associate Professor Philip Evans The National Specialty Lead for Primary Care for the CRN covering the whole of England, and is also one of the two Cluster C Leads based within King's College London with specific responsibility for Dermatology, Mental Health, Primary Care and Public Health.