Diabetes Monogenic research main image

Monogenic genetic analysis has led to improved patient care.

Molecular Genetics, Monogenic - Awards

The diabetes department has achieved both national and international recognition for both its outstanding scientific innovation and role in improving clinical care of patients. More than 300 invited lectures have been given at national and international conferences, in 52 countries, across all five continents.

National awards

The department has twice received the honour of a Queen's Anniversary Prize for Higher and Further Education, for microvascular complications (1996) and for diabetes genetics (2006) and won the Hospital Doctor Academic Team of the year (2005). Professor Hattersley is an elected fellow of the Royal Society (2010), Academy of Medical Science (2004) and Royal College of Physicians (1997). He has received awards from the Royal College of Physicians, Association of Physicians, British Medical Association, Society of Endocrinology, Royal College of Pathologists, British Society for Human Genetics and Diabetes UK. He is a Wellcome Trust and NIHR Senior Investigator. Professor Ellard was the NHS healthcare scientist of the year (2006), won the BMA Medical Textbook of the year award and is a Wellcome Trust Senior Investigator.

International awards

The department received the 2012 International award for Innovation in Paediatric Diabetes Care. Professor Hattersley has been honoured by the USA Society of Endocrinology, USA National Disease Research Interchange, Novartis International Young Clinical Investigator Award, European Monogenic Diabetes Clinical Award, International Diabetes and Pregnancy Study Group Prize, and awards from Universities in the USA, Canada, Ireland, India and Norway.

Awards reflecting excellence in medical research training

Staff trained in the department, including Professor Frayling, have rapidly become excellent independent investigators wining numerous fellowships and prizes. In the last eight years department members received the RD Lawrence award for the best young UK diabetes researcher on five occasions and the EASD rising star award for the best young diabetes researchers in Europe on three occasions.