Skip to main content

Professor Ken Stein has been named as a new NIHR Senior Investigator

Three new prestigious NIHR Senior Investigator awards for Exeter academics

Three health researchers at the University of Exeter have been recognised as among the most prominent and prestigious in the country to be funded by the Government health research arm, NIHR.

Professor Ken Stein has been named as a new NIHR Senior Investigator for his work in health care sciences, while new Senior Emeritus Professor status has been awarded to Professor Andrew Hattersley for Endocrinology and to Professor David Richards for Nursing.

It brings the total of NIHR Senior Investigators at Exeter to six, as Professors Linda Clare and Rod Taylor were awarded the title in a previous round, while Professor Paul Dieppe was previously named as a Senior Emeritus Professor.

The coveted awards are only presented to “the most outstanding leaders of patient and people-based research within the NIHR research community”. 

Professor Clive Ballard, Executive Dean and Pro-vice Chancellor of the University of Exeter Medical School, said: “These awards are a fantastic endorsement of the outstanding quality of our academics and our research. Each of these academics is working on research with meaningful patient benefit, an area we pride ourselves on at Exeter. This recognition is very well deserved – congratulations to all!”

Date: 2 March 2020

Read more University News