Skip to main content

The 6th Annual Award ceremony celebrated both student and staff success

College of Medicine and Health Awards Celebrate Student and Staff Success

The University of Exeter College of Medicine and Health celebrated student and academic staff successes across the college at an award ceremony in Cornwall.

The brightest sparks from Medicine, Medical Imaging and Medical Sciences gathered at St Mellion International Resort for the sixth annual awards ceremony on 2nd October 2019. Students and academic staff came together to reward the hard work put in by both groups in the past academic year.

Professor Clive Ballard, Pro-Vice Chancellor and Executive Dean, said: “It’s wonderful to see so many of our students receiving honours for what they have done this year – it’s a bright forecast for their future careers and for healthcare in this country.

“A massive well done to our amazing staff too, whose hard work this past year has helped our programmes move up and maintain the rankings. Their dedication has been recognised by students as an excellent indication to the high quality teaching they provide.

“Congratulations to everyone who has received a prize and also to those who were nominated.”

High flying students receive awards for their marks, along with others who are awarded with special commendations for Scientific Research and Communication, and Reflective Practice and Professionalism, and awards for Outstanding Patient Care.

Staff were involved in the ceremony for the fourth year running, being given awards for inspiration and motivation. Clinical teaching teams have also been recognised for their excellence and innovation in both GP practices and hospitals.

Dr Ealaff Shakweh MBBS MSc, a recent graduate from the University of Exeter Medical School, was awarded for the Undergraduate Dr Ken MacLeod Academic Achievement Award - given to the student who has made the greatest improvement. Ealaff graduated from Medical School as one of the top 10 students in her cohort, whilst she was ranked outside the top 100 following her first year examinations.

Her interest in the welfare of others and the prospect of a new challenge inspired Ealaff to apply for Medicine at the University of Exeter. Six years of study and hard work later, she is now following her dream, practicing as a doctor in the North West London deanery.

Ealaff said: "It is an honour to have received this award. I have had the most wonderful six years at the University of Exeter, years that I will cherish for the rest of my life. I truly believe that the University has allowed me to reach my full potential, and has provided me with opportunities that will put me in good stead to be successful in my medical career. I would like to thank all of the dedicated staff at the University of Exeter for facilitating these opportunities and for their unwavering support throughout my time at medical school."

The full list of winners is:

BMBS Prizes

AMK Best Overall Score

Year 1 – Mirame Mostefai
Year 2 – Ziad Zeidan
Year 3 – Arash Ganji
Year 4 – Daniel James
Year 5 – Terence Chan

OSCE Best Overall Score

Year 2 – Luna Nedic
Year 4 – Eveline Tucker

SSC Best Overall Score

Year 1 – Robert Murray
Year 2 – Nathan Sadd
Year 3 – Jasmine Clark & Sophie Carr
Year 4 – Cassie Brewer, Aleksandra Kaniewska & Sofia Mish

Peter Thursby Memorial Prize

Jenna Hussain

Paul Lock Memorial Prize in Paediatrics

Daisy Hucklesby

Paul Lock Clinical Academic Prize in Paediatrics

Viktorija Kaminskaite

Newquay Health Centre Sporting Achievement Prize

Harry Theron

Rosmellyn Elective Photo Prize

1st – Amy Hough
2nd – Ben Kodiatt

Duchy Health Prize

Mariska Peck

Elective Poster Presentation

Robert Pugh

Dr Ken MacLeod Academic Achievement Award

Ealaff Shakweh


Medical Sciences

BSc Medical Sciences Prizes

Year 1 – Emine Akpinar
Year 2 – Jenna Markey
PTY – Luke Tillman
Final Year – Josan Gandawijaya

Special Commendation for Reflective Practice and Professionalism (BSc Medical Science)

Year 1 – Leyli Hydyrova
Year 2 – Hannah Truelove, Harriet Warr and Simon Wragg
Final Year – Jolene Davis, Constance Jackson and Owen Jones

Special Commendation for Scientific Research and Communication (BSc Medical Science)

Year 1 – Sakina Okoko, Amber Luckett and Stephanie Brown
Year 2 – Amy Heather, Annabel Smith and Harriet Warr
Final Year – Eleanor Martin, Qalam Eusef and Melissa Ward

Best Overall Job Application in Fundamental Skills for Medical Scientists Module 2018/19

Laura Harrold

BSc Sport and Exercise Medicine Prizes

Year 1 – Christian Donovan
Year 2 – Olivia Elliott
Final Year – Yasha Najafi

Special Commendation for Scientific Research and Communication (BSc Sport and Exercise Medical Sciences)

Year 1 – Christian Donovan
Year 2 – Ceri Barton
Final Year – Yasha Najafi

BSc Neuroscience Prizes

Year 1 – Georgia Morgan

Special Commendation for Scientific Research and Communication (BSc Neuroscience)

Year 1 – Georgia Morgan


Medical Imaging

BSc Medical Imaging Prizes

Year 1 – Eleanor Hurlock, Gemma Green and Isabella Hardy
Year 2 – Emily James, Rupert Maclaren and Matthew Butler
Final Year – Thomas Eustice, Katie Kinnon and Katy Crocker

Medical Imaging Clinical Performance

Stage 1 – Beth Williams and Emma Brandis
Stage 2 – Emily James
Stage 3 – Jessica Please

Medical Imaging Clinical Professionalism

Stage 1 – Beth Williams
Stage 2 – Lillian Baker
Stage 3 – Thomas Eustice

Medical Imaging Outstanding Patient Care

Stage 1 – Emma Brandis
Stage 2 – Abigail Woodington
Stage 3 – Agata Ilczyszyn

Medical Imaging College Commendation

Rupert Maclaren, Steven Cox and Eleri Davis

Rothband Prize

Katy Crocker, Polly Cutmore, Laura Jones and Eleanor Sexty


Cross College

BSc Extra Curricular

Ayesha Saeed

BSc Charitable

Kristin Allan

BMBS Extra Curricular

Daisy Kirtly

BMBS Community

Olivia Eguiguren Wray

BMBS Charitable

Conor Tuffs

Medical Imaging Extra Curricular

Winnie Tam


Staff Aureus


Most Inspirational Teacher (pre-clinical) – Dr Fred Roberts
Most Inspirational Teacher BMBS (clinical) – Dr Stephen Iles
The Shoulder Donor – Dr Ali Prust
Wild Card – Dr Russell Davies
The ProclaimersDr Laith Al-Mukhtar


Medical Imaging

Most Inspirational Teacher – Liliana Rodrigues
Educational Inspirer – Julie Mills
Helping Hand – Julie Chudley


Medical Sciences

Most Inspirational Teacher – Clare Gallon
Educational Inspirer – Dr Samuel Pollard
Supporting Hand – Dr Shelly Dogra


Excellence and Innovation in Clinical Teaching

Truro GP Practices – Carnewater
Exeter GP Practices – St Leonards Medical Practice
Truro Hospital Teams – Cardiology RCHT
Exeter Hospital Teams – ENT RD&E

Date: 3 October 2019

Read more University News