Skip to main content

Some of Exeter’s best and brightest from across the Medicine, Medical Science and Medical Imaging programmes were awarded for their academic and extracurricular achievements.

Student and staff achievements celebrated in Medical School awards

The University of Exeter Medical School has recognised some of its excellent students and staff for their academic achievements during the 5th Annual awards evening.

Some of Exeter’s best and brightest from across the Medicine, Medical Science and Medical Imaging programmes were awarded for their academic and extracurricular achievements across a range of categories at an evening awards event in the Great Hall, Streatham Campus.

Among others, students received Special Commendations for Scientific Research and Communication, and Reflective Practice and Professionalism, and awards for Outstanding Patient Care.

Staff joined these students for the third year running, nominated by their students for awards such as Most Inspirational Teacher and Educational Motivator.

Professor Clive Ballard, Pro-Vice Chancellor and Dean of the University of Exeter Medical School, said: “Congratulations to each and every one of our students. The initiative, commitment, and talent they have displayed is a promising step toward their future careers as doctors, health professionals and scientists.

“And congratulations to our staff, whose hard work this past year has helped our programmes move up the rankings. Their dedication has been recognised by students as an excellent indication to the high quality teaching they provide.”

Winners of the standout Citizenship Awards category demonstrated keen initiative in engaging with their local communities.

Fourth year James Farquhar established a Widening Participation scheme in Truro to advertise and support applications to study Medicine from areas with traditionally fewer successful applicants.

James said: “I’m delighted to win this award. Most of our work was done at Truro College where we supported a ‘Medics Academy’ with weekly sessions to help students refine their personal statements and get interview practice. 70 Exeter Medical Students carried out 50 sessions and provided 60 interviews across six schools. The great work is being continued this year by Olivia Wray.”

Third year BSc Medical Sciences student Charlotte Caroff received the Charitable Award for her work with St John Ambulance and the Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital.

As Surgical Outpatients volunteer at RD&E, Charlotte is responsible for delivering sensitive information to consulting rooms, in addition to providing support to the clinical team, and patients and their families.

Charlotte, 20, said: “Volunteering at the RD&E has allowed me to uncover the inner workings of hospital life. I have benefited greatly from immersing myself into a healthcare setting and I feel privileged to contribute even in the smallest of ways.”

The full list of winners is:

BMBS Prizes
AMK Best Overall Score
Year 1 – Ziad Zeidan
Year 2 – Jasmin Clark
Year 3 – Matthew Saint
Year 4 – Christopher Haighton
Year 5 – Amaan Hussain

OSCE Best Overall Score
Year 2 – Miriam Beattie and Teresa Hui
Year 4 – Jamie Walsh

SSC Best Overall Score
Year 1 – Rebecca Wood and Ziad Zeidan
Year 2 – Jasmin Clark
Year 3 – Molly Parkinson
Year 4 – Francesca Parker

Peter Thursby Memorial prize
Ben Dawson and Julian Pietrzycki

Dr Grant Neumegen Prize
Waheed-Ul-Rahman Ahmed

Paul Lock Prize in Paediatrics
Hannah Dennis

Paul Lock Clinical Academic Prize in Paediatrics
Lucy Hoade

Newquay Health Centre Sporting Achievement Prize
Dave Morgan

Duchy Heath Prize
Matthew Saint

BSc Medical Sciences Prizes
Year 1 – Emma Curran
Year 2 – Daisy Stweart
PTY – Lauren Davis
Final Year – Adam Harris

Special Commendation for Reflective Practice and Professionalism (BSc Medical Sciences)
Year 1 – Aysha Saeed
Year 2 – Rebecca Conder
Final Year – Alexander Budd

Special Commendation for Scientific Research and Communication (BSc Medical Sciences)
Year 1 – Emma Curran, Emma Darke and Annabel Smith
Year 2 – Charlotte Caroff, Jessica Stocks and Stanimir Stoilov
Final Year – Lauren Davis, Annabel Hall and Tirtha Rana

Sport & Exercise Medical Science Prizes
Year 1 – Nuria Horner
Year 2 – Yahsa Najafi

Special Commendation for Scientific Research and Communication
Laura Bunce and Nuria Horner

Medical Imaging Prizes
Year 1 – Matthew Butler, Emily James and Rupert Maclaren
Year 2 – Thomas Eustice, Katie Kinnon and Jessica Please
Year 3 – Anna Kingwell, Eleanor Lucas and Elizabeth Washak

Medical Imaging Clinical Performance
Stage 1 – Matthew Butler
Stage 2 – Katie Kinnon
Stage 3 – Emma Wray

Medical Imaging Clinical Professionalism
Stage 1 – Hollie Maddocks
Stage 2 – Alice-Rose Bradbeer
Stage 3 – Phoebe Sage

Medical Imaging Outstanding Patient Care
Stage 1 – Amanda Bower
Stage 2 – Shona Howie
Stage 3 – Nicoleta Crauciuc

Medical Imaging College Commendation
Year 2 – Natalie Wheelhouse
Year 3 – Steven Cox

Rothband Prize
Alexander Ford, Eleanor Lucas and Justine Soper

Citizenship Awards Cross College Prize
BSc Extra Curricular – Hannah Merrison
BSc Community – Dibyajyoti Pattanaik
BSc Charitable – Charlotte Caroff
BMBS Extra Curricular – Theodore Howard
BMBS Community – James Farquhar and Rebecca Norman
BMBS Charitable – Daniel Vowles

Excellence and Innovation in Clinical Teaching
Truro GP team – Sunnyside Surgery
Exeter GP team – Rolle Medical Practice
Truro Hospital team – General Surgery - Magdalena Ionescu RCHT
Exeter Hospital team – Endocrinology - RDE

BMBS Staff Aureus
Most inspirational Teacher (pre-clinical) – Dr James Gilbert
Most Inspirational Teacher (clinical) – Dr Mark Napier
The Shoulder Donor (clinical) – Jonathan Wyatt
The Shoulder Donor (pre-clinical) – Kely Lewis
Educational Inspirer – Dr Timothy Harrower
The Proclaimers – Dr Laith Al-Mukhtar

Medical Imaging Staff Aureus
Educational Inspirer – Lucy Ashton
Shoulder Donor – Dr Clare Thorn
Helping Hand – Demelza Green

Medical Science Staff Aureus
Supporting Hand – Joy Davies
Helping Hand – Dr Joanna Tarr
Educational Inspirer – Clive Ballard
Educational Motivator – Dr Clare Gallon
Shoulder Donor – Dr David MacDonald

Date: 4 October 2018

Read more University News