Skip to main content

Congratulations to the Acute Medical Unit RCHT team!

Students recognise College of Medicine and Health staff for excellence

Students in the University of Exeter’s College of Medicine and Health have awarded prizes to staff to thank them for their support.

As part of the College’s annual prize-giving ceremony, students nominate teachers across a range of categories. The nominations include University of Exeter staff, and NHS teams that have provided excellent and innovative teaching to students on placement.

Presented at St Mellion Golf Club last night, the award categories included inspirational teaching, the “shoulder donor” for supportive teaching, and the “helping hand”.

Medical Imaging student Eleanor Hurlock described Julie Mills, winner of the Medical Imaging Educational Inspirer, as a “wonderful teacher”, and said: “It has been especially a pleasure to be taught by her through the pandemic, as she was not only teaching us but also providing us with emotional support. She has always checked on our wellbeing on top of helping us with studying and providing us with all we needed and more"

Neuroscience student Natalia Arendarczyk said Maisha Reza was nominated at the Most Inspirational Teacher for the “tremendous dedication she demonstrates towards her teaching, and the care and approachability she exhibited towards students, especially during the challenging times of the pandemic”.

She added that Jon Witton was nominated as Educational Inspirer for his “incredible innovation in teaching which has made his modules immensely interesting and engaging, and also for the ongoing support and receptiveness he has shown towards the students”.

Medicine student Daisy Campen said Jurg Ehman was nominated for the subject’s most inspirational teacher because: “He always encourages us to give things a go, he is so dedicated to building our confidence and supporting us to become competent doctors.”

Daisy said Magdalena Ionescu's “passion for surgery and education shines through. This enthusiasm inspires us to look beyond graduation and to our future as doctors, and all the opportunities available”.

Professor Ian Fussell, Associate Dean for Education at the University of Exeter College of Medicine and Health, who hosted the event, said: “These staff prizes are incredibly heart-warming and valued by the winners, because they are voted for by students. Our staff are absolutely outstanding – they deliver a world-class education, while instilling qualities of empathy, compassion and life-long learning, by leading from the front. I’m incredibly proud of our entire community.”

The full list of staff and organisational winners is:

Most educational Inspirer (clinical) BMBS - Magdalena Ionescue

Most Inspirational teacher (clinical) BMBS - Jurg Ehman

Most Inspirational Teacher Pre Clinical - Dan Couchman

Shoulder Donor BMBS - Dr Beth Chapman

Med Imaging Most Inspirational Teacher - Lucy Banfield

Med Imaging Educational Inspirer - Julie Mills

Medical Imaging Educational Motivator - Louise Hancock

Med Imaging Helping Hand - Rosey Davies

Med Sci-Neuro Educational Inspirer - Jon Witton

Med Sci -Neuro Supporting Hand - Siobhan O'Dwyer

Med Sci-Neuro Inspirational Teacher - Maisha Reza

Excellence and Innovation in Clinical Teaching, Team Award for GP Practices, Truro Locality - Helston Medical Centre

Excellence and Innovation in Clinical Teaching, Team Award for GP Practices, Exeter Locality - Seaton & Colyton

Excellence and Innovation in Clinical Teaching, Team Award for Hospital Teams, Truro Locality - Acute Medical Unit RCHT

Excellence and Innovation in Clinical Teaching, Team Award for Hospital Teams, Exeter Locality - HFOP Health care for Older People Department RD&E

Medical Imaging Best Placement Hospital Team - Yeovil

Date: 7 April 2022

Read more University News