Calman Lecture

Hosted by AoME and featuring a keynote lecture from Professor Cees van der Vleuten, Maastricht University this event celebrates the AoME Honorary Fellowship Awards ceremony 2016.

The Annual prestigious Calman Lecture is given in honour of Sir Kenneth Calman Hon FAcadMEd, one of the founders of the Academy of Medical Educators. As a tribute to Sir Ken's own enormous involvement, leadership and contribution to teaching, learning and the organisation of medical training, the general theme for the Calman Lectures is reflections on the education of doctors.

Previous Lecturers include:

2015 Sir Terence Stephenson

2014 David Haslam CBE, Chair of NICE

2013 Professor Ian Cumming, Chief Executive of Health Education England

2012 Lord Nigel Crisp KCB

2011 Sir Peter Rubin, Chair of the General Medical Council

2010 Professor Karen Mann, Professor Emeritus, Dalhousie University

2009 Dr Bill Bryson, Author and Chancellor, Durham University

Event schedule
18:00 - 18:15

Welcome Professor Tim Quine, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Education, University of Exeter

Followed by:

Introduction Professor Derek Gallen, President, Academy of Medical Educators

18:15 - 19:15 Calman Lecture – Keynote lecture by Professor Cees van der Vleuten
19:15 - 19:30

Honorary Fellowship Awards ceremony

Presided over by Professor Derek Gallen, President, Academy of Medical Educators

19:30 - 21:00 Evening Reception – Sponsored by: Prescribing Skills Assessment – delivered by the British Pharmacological Society

Please register to attend this event.

Shuttle transport will be provided for delegates between Rougemont Hotel to The Forum for this event.

The Forum
Stocker Road
University of Exeter
Streatham Campus